Creamy Pesto and Spinach Pasta

I always try to find some positive to an otherwise negative situation..

Yesterday my son was quite sick, so we spent a good portion of the day at the Children’s Hospital.

Long story short, we were told the wait to see a doc was 3 hours, so my husband and I went to the cafetria to have something to eat. I love looking at cafe displays and menus, so took the opportunity to learn something new.

My husband bought pesto and spinach pasta. I could see that it was incredibly rich, so I only tasted it.. It was really lovely and knew it would become a regular on our home menu. I am glad that I came across something new as I feel like I always packing my husband stirfry noodles or omlette for lunch 😀

Today I made some for my husband’s lunch for the week…

It was so tasty (and lighter than the one yesterday) that I couldn’t help but have a little myself.

You will need: enough for 1 kg of penne pasta

Approx 2 heaped tablespoons plain flour

Approx 2 tablespoons butter

Approx 1 L fullcream milk

half a cup of frozen chopped spinach

half a cup fresh basil (optional)

250 gms penne pasta

To make:

Melt the butter in a saucepan, add the flour and stir over medium heat until lightly golden but not deepn in colour. You know you are ready to add the milk when the flour smells like biscuits 🙂

Add milk (preferably warm) one cup at a time. Whisking really well. Lower heat and add more milk , little by little until desired consistency is achieved. You might not use all the milk, or you might need more.

Season well with salt. Add spinach and cook through.

Add basil (you can whiz up with some olive oil for a richer dish). Add to sauce.

Cook penne pasta and stir through the sauce.

Enjoy with a generous sprinkle of good quality parmesan cheese.

Tips:

  • Whisk, whisk, whisk! Otherwise your sauce will be really lumpy.
  • Remember the sauce thickens as it cools.
  • Store any exrtra sauce and freeze for a quick midweek dinner or weekend lunch. Just cook the pasta and mix through heated sauce.
2 thoughts on “Creamy Pesto and Spinach Pasta

Leave a Reply

