Apple and Almond Cake

Yes, another apple cake recipe.. I love this one more than my previous one 🙂

This recipe is my mum’s favourite. Before I married, I used to make this frequently at home. It only came second to a moist carrot cake : )

This cake is full of hidden goodies; yogurt, nuts and apples. It is also made without butter which makes it great for those looking for a healthier option. I actually prefer the taste of oil in cakes over butter.

You will need:

1 cup castor sugar

3/4 cup oil

2 eggs

1 cup almond meal

1/2 cup plain yogurt

Sprinkle of ground all spice (optional)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Vanilla flavouring (approx 2 tablesoons vanilla sugar)

1 large granny smith apple- peeled, cored and chopped into approx 1.5-2 cm pieces

Sliced almonds for garnish (about a handful)

To make:

Whisk all wet ingredients with the sugar until creamy. Add flour and spices/flavouring. Fold in well with a spatula. Add the apples and mix in well.

Place in a lined and greased cake tin, sprinkle with almonds and bake for about 50-60 mins in a preheated 180 deg oven on the middle shelf, or until cooked through.

2 thoughts on “Apple and Almond Cake

    • I always use corn or sunflower oil in my cooking/baking. If the vegetable oil is mild in flavour (you dont want it to show in the cake) then I believe it should be fine insha’ Allah.

      The reason I use corn/sunflower instead of vegetable oil is many vegetable oils have a blend which may be unhealthy (like palm oil).

Leave a Reply

