Nobody does chicken like…

I feel a bit odd starting off my recipes with fried chicken as it isn’t really representative of what I usually eat or cook.

People would generally go out for fried chicken. Not me. If I eat fried chicken it’s got to be full of flavour, crispy and definetly not soggy. Unfortunately I have not found a take out place that offers that, including my local KFC.

Enough talking.. let’s get cooking.

This is my take on the southern fried or KFC style chicken.

Ingredients:

1/2 kg Skinless chicken pieces (they call it chicken curry pieces in my world)

Approx 1/2 cup butter milk

Chilli powder (optional but highly recommended)

Chicken seasoning ( I used the Aldi brand)

Cornstarch

Kentucky style chicken seasoned flour ( I buy this from my local butcher but will try to devise my own blend soon)

Oil for frying (of course!)

Method:

Prep the chicken:

Sprinkle chicken pieces with a few shakes of chicken seasoning. Dont put too much as it includes salt and the coating will be salty as well.

Add a pinch of chilli powder, more or less to taste. Some people like to add a bit of tobasco sauce.

Cover the chicken pieces in buttermilk and allow to sit in the fridge for 1-4 hours. You can leave overnight but I dont usually plan my meals that far ahead. I am a spontaneous cook.

Meanwhile you can prepare the sides (coleslaw, chips, potato and gravy etc)

Coat the chicken:

For super crispy chicken you need corn flour. The normal seasoning just wont do.

I mix approx 2 tablespoons of corn flour to every one cup of seasoned flour.

To coat the chicken, grab one piece of chicken without draining too much of the buttermilk. The chicken piece should still have a layer of buttermilk a few mms thick. Roll the and pat the chicken with flour. Do not worry if the flour starts to ball up into small blobs. That is ok, it adds character and crisp to your coating and makes it thicker.

Once done with all the pieces, allow to rest for about 5 mins while you heat up the oil. Once rested, you will find the pieces are looking wet again. You should roll again in the flour to make the coating even more awesome! Shake off excess before frying.

Fry the chicken:

I dont have fancy gadgets at home.. thermometers included. But if you do, they  generally say the optimum temperature for frying is 350F. I just heat up my oil to a temp that isn’ t too high. The chicken should sizzle but not brown too quickly or else it will be raw on the inside and charcoal on the outside.

Frying takes 5-10 mins depending on the size of the pieces ( I use small pieces for maximum coating per unit area)

Drain on paper towels.

Eat the chicken:

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

